Hometown heroes don’t serve hometown beer?

Having been to more than a few Cats games over the years, I am always glad to see them do well. This season seems no different as they are in the playoffs, destined to I hope win another championship. Minor league baseball has its charms. As one who is not typically a fan of baseball, I do find myself enjoying the Cats. This season has me irked though. When I head to Lagrave field I never expect it to be a beer mecca mind you. In the past though they have supported our hometown brewery Rahr & Sons. Very few things in life are as satisfying as spending a hot summer night watching baseball, and drinking beer. Watching baseball players who really do care about the game, and drinking some locally brewed Rahr Blonde used to be the perfect summer evening. I noticed this season, that there craft offerings no longer include our local brews. Instead when I go to the games now, I drink Drop Top Amber or Hefeweizen from Widmer Brothers Brewing. I go to see the local team, and half to drink beer from Oregon? Now I have nothing against Widmer or there brews. Just for me I expect an organization as Fort Worthian(Is that a word?) as the Cats to serve our own beer. They can serve our local burgers, Kincaids, but not our local beer? Rahrs brewed up their “Cats Eye Lager” in honor of the Cats championship season. Next to the score board at Lagrave, they are flying the three championship pennants they have won. Do they serve the beer brewed in honor of their championship seasons? I will continue to attend games and support the team. Until things change though, I seriously urge the folks running the place to bring back the local brews. Watching the hometown team, drinking the hometown beer is truly a perfect summer experience.

~ by thebrewgeek on Saturday, August 2, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
